RSS Feed

Roger Ebert (1942 – 2013)

Roger Ebert died on Thursday, April 4th. I don’t feel that I can adequately memorialize him better than others, who really knew him, have done. So today, instead of a review, have some links.

First, his obituary at the Sun-Times, where he reviewed movies for 46 years.

Outlaw Vern on Ebert’s love of movies – action, animation, horror – that other mainstream film critics often dismissed.

John Scalzi on Ebert as a writer, not just about movies but, especially later in his life, about everything else.

Roger Ebert at Salon.com: I do not fear death

My favorite review, about a movie that I loved as a teenager, is this review of Dead Poets Society.

And finally, Roger Ebert’s last review, at the Onion.

Sorry for not posting a review today. I’m going to put some extra spit and polish on the next one, and make sure it’s something worthwhile. I think what the loss of this great critic means to me is that I have to try that much harder to have thoughtful, worthwhile conversations about culture. We all have to try a little harder to fill the space he left behind, not just as a critic, but as a human being.

From the Salon article:

I believe that if, at the end, according to our abilities, we have done something to make others a little happier, and something to make ourselves a little happier, that is about the best we can do. To make others less happy is a crime. To make ourselves unhappy is where all crime starts. We must try to contribute joy to the world. That is true no matter what our problems, our health, our circumstances. We must try. I didn’t always know this and am happy I lived long enough to find it out.

 

One response »

  1. David Richards

    I already miss him. Chances were that a good review by him was a good movie for me.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

